Catching the Elusive Butterfly

by Dan Underbrink

Fellow swimmers,

I have a confession to make; I never really learned how to do the Butterfly.

Oh, I do a flopping, loose interpretation of the Butterfly, which (most of the time) somehow falls within the USMS and FINA rules for the stroke, but I have never really caught on to that smooth, undulating rhythm that is seen when real Butterfly swimmers grace the lanes.

Friends, since Swimming is Our Way of Life, and it includes just four means of propulsion (those being Butterfly, Backstroke, Breaststroke, and Freestyle) I have had to ask myself, “Does it make any sense for me to continue to exhibit sub-standard performance in any one of these?” Of course, it doesn’t!

Fortunately, TWIM is providing an elegant solution to correct my Butterfly deficiency, in the form of a swim clinic! That’s right! A clinic devoted solely to instruction on how to improve your Butterfly technique!

Won’t you come and join us, as we all improve our Butterfly? The clinic is called “Fly with Tatiana!”, and will be held on Saturday, October 29, at the Snohomish Aquatic Center.

Two-time Olympian, Tatiana Lemos de Lima, is the presenter for this TWIM Clinic. She will be there to provide us with the instruction we need to improve our performance in this most elusive of strokes.

Click here for further details and registration information.

Leave a comment